About Magnet Designation


MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center is proud to be a Magnet designated hospital. The four-year designation for excellence in nursing services from the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program® was first achieved in November 2008. In 2018, MedStar Franklin Square was redesignated with this recognition for nursing excellence, making it MedStar Franklin's third designation.  

The Magnet Recognition Program recognizes health care organizations that demonstrate excellence in nursing practice and adherence to national standards for the organization and delivery of nursing services. Applicant hospitals undergo a rigorous evaluation that includes written documentation demonstrating excellence in nursing practice and clinical outcomes, as well as an extensive interviews and on-site review of nursing services validating organizational excellence.

Magnet recognition is a performance-driven recognition for:

  • Quality patient care
  • Nursing excellence
  • Innovation in professional nursing practice

Only 6% of U.S. hospitals earn this designation and MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center is one of them!

History of our Journey to Magnet

Franklin Square Hospital was one of 41 U.S. hospitals identified in 1981 as having the characteristics of magnetism in the original study, Magnet Hospitals: Attraction and Retention of Professional Nurses, published by the American Academy of Nursing in 1983 (McClure et al., 1983). It was appropriate that we recapture this spirit and seek formal designation as a Magnet hospital.

We adopted the Forces of Magnetism as our framework for professional practice. These rigorous standards guided our strategic decisions as we created a work environment worthy of Magnet recognition. Conferred by the American Nurses Credentialing Center, magnet is the highest level of recognition a hospital can achieve for excellence in nursing; it requires us to continuously examine our culture and infrastructure and demonstrate that we meet rigorous standards.